Skip to content


The Td/IPV vaccine, sometimes known as the teenage booster or 3-in-1 is given as a single injection into the upper arm to boost your child’s protection against three separate diseases: tetanus, diphtheria and polio. It's routinely given at secondary school (in school year nine) at the same time as the MenACWY vaccine.

In total, you need five doses of the tetanus, diphtheria and polio vaccines through your childhood. This will build up and maintain your body's own immunity against these infections and protect you against the diseases.

You receive the first 3 doses as a baby in the 6-in-1 vaccine. The 4th dose is given around the age of three as a pre-school booster in the 4-in-1 vaccine, and the 5th and final dose is the teenage 3-in-1 booster given at age 14 (school year nine).

You'll usually only need an additional booster before travelling to some countries or if you have had a certain type of injury.

What does the 3-in-1 teenage booster contain?

It's what's known as a combined vaccine, and contains:

  • cleaned (purified) diphtheria toxoid (low dose)
  • cleaned (purified) tetanus toxoid
  • three types of killed (inactivated) polio virus.

The 3-in-1 vaccine does not contain the mercury-based preservative thiomersal.

The brand name of the 3-in-1 teenage booster given in the UK is REVAXIS, for more information please read the REVAXIS leaflet.